About BJR

The British Journalism Review is printed quarterly and presents students and lovers of the media with the latest independent opinions of current journalism. Its editorial board comprises academics and current and former editors and practitioners in print, online and broadcast.

Each year the BJR awards two prizes for media excellence. Firstly, the Charles Wheeler Award for outstanding contribution to broadcast journalism and, secondly, the esteemed Cudlipp Award for campaigning and investigative journalism.

This website offers a selection of the articles of the latest issue and, in our Archive, previous issues. Further current content can be read FREE for three months from publication date on our publisher’s Sage website: https://journals.sagepub.com/toc/bjra/current. These open articles are marked with a green open padlock.

Individual print copies cost £17 or £54 a year. Personal and institution subscriptions for full access to current and historic print/online content are available from Sage Publishing. Please refer to the Subscription & Back Issues page.

Support past and present

The Editorial Board gratefully acknowledges the support of the Joseph Rowntree Reform Trust who made a substantial grant available as seed capital for our initial publication.

About BJR Publishing

BJR Publishing is a non-profit making company limited by guarantee. The views expressed are those of the author(s) concerned and do not necessarily reflect those of the Editor or the Editorial Board



  • Kim Fletcher @KimFletcher

Editorial Board:

  • Chairwoman Julia Langdon
  • Chairman emeritus Bill Hagerty @HagertyBill
  • Jo Adetunji
  • Steven Barnett @stevenjbarnett
  • Sir Geoffrey Bindman
  • Jessica Carsen
  • Ivor Gaber @ivorgaber
  • Margaret Hill
  • Joy Johnson
  • Sue Matthias
  • Julian Petley
  • Liz Vercoe @vercoeliz
  • Sarah Whitehead
  • Ben Whitelaw
  • Emma Youle @emmayoule

      Foreign Correspondents:

    • Anthony Delano (France
    • Roy Greenslade (Ireland)
    • Jemima Kiss (California)


    • Carolyn Cluskey


    • Ranjika De Silva, Nick Jenkins, James Kitchenham


    • Page Bros., Norwich, UK
      ISSN (printed version) 0956-4748)
      ISSN (online version) 1741-2668